Nostalgia. (A Stream of Consciousness)


Lately I’ve been thinking about the songs I’d listened to and then forgotten about, along with the videos. I caught the video for New Order’s “True Faith” earlier and realised I’d seen it before, but I don’t remember seeing it. Perhaps it’s déjà vu. I’m not sure.

And now I’ve just seen the video for The Cure’s “In Between Days” and all I can think about is “Push”. I had that on my iPod Nano a few years ago; back when I still had The Killers’ iTunes playlists. For some reason I only had Ronnie Vannucci’s, and I can remember three out of four, “Push” being one. Johnny Cash’s “Sam Hall” and Talking Heads’ “This Must Be The Place” were the others. I want to listen to them again, and yet I don’t.

I was fifteen then, maybe sixteen, and much more carefree than I am now. I’m twenty-one and things feel more heavy. There’s more weight to things. And it’s strange that a good sentence can be terrifying. “You’re getting what you wanted,” my mum said earlier, and I am. I’m getting some things I’ve wanted for years. Immaterial things. Relationships. Companionship. Intimacy. (Just the word ‘intimacy’ conjured up Crystal Castles’ “Empathy”. No idea why.) These things are new and exciting and worrisome all at once.

Ears now straining to hear what’s being played on XFM. The thing that annoys me most is when presenters are, well, presenting, and they’re playing a great track in the background. They don’t lead into it and so you never find out what it is … I find that so sad.

Just had a notification pop up on Twitter. Bobby Tank has favourited the tweet I sent him earlier. If you haven’t checked out “Afterburn” yet, you really should. Weeks later and I’m still amazed as to how many sounds fit together so perfectly. His new EP was released today too. Mara Carlyle tweeted me earlier as well, to say thanks. (She posted a picture of herself with KT Tunstall at the Ivor Novellos; she looked gorgeous.) Her song “Nuzzle” could have easily won an award. It’s probably the most sensual, romantic song on Floreat, lovely to listen to now that the days are getting longer (and hopefully warmer).

I like that these are just some of the songs that I’ll associate with my early twenties. That’s usually how I work out how old I was at one point or another: what was I listening to, and which house was I living in? (We moved around a bit when I was younger.) I wonder if anyone else marks time like that.

Leave a comment